User management in Planyard

In this article, you will find information on how to invite users and adjust permissions in Planyard.

Table of contents

Introduction

In Planyard, configuring user access and permissions accurately is key to operational efficiency and security.  The user management ensures that every team member has the appropriate level of access to the tools and information they need to perform their roles efficiently. 

By providing a detailed permission structure, Planyard allows you to invite external parties to the platform, such as clients or consultants, granting them access only to the information and features relevant to them.

User permissions are done in two layers: 

  1. Account level: determine user permissions on the company account level. For example, should the user be able to create new project in the platform, invite new users or manage company settings or integrations? 
  2. Project level: You can select what permissions users should have on project level. For example, should the user be able to raise purchase orders, run tender processes or process invoices? 

Below we have detailed the steps for inviting new users and for managing user permissions on the account level. Following this, we explore the specifics of project-level permissions and outlined the process for inviting existing users within your company account to specific projects.

By ensuring that each team member has access tailored to their needs, you can enhance both security and productivity across your projects. If you have any further questions or require additional assistance, please refer to our help center or contact our support team for more guidance.

Company account level

User permissions account level

User permissions are chosen when inviting a new user, but can be edited for each user at any time. Let's go through all permission setting on company level: 

  • Create, edit and archive projects: Permissions can be set to 'Own' or 'Everyone's'. Choose whether the user can edit project details, such as estimates and target budgets, for all active projects on the platform or only their own projects. We recommend being restrictive with giving users access to edit all projects. 
  • View projects: Permissions can be set to 'Own & Shared' or 'Everyone's'. If set to 'Everyone's', users will have viewer permissions for all active projects, allowing them to see financial details for all projects. This can be beneficial as it enables users to view historic costs for cost codes used in other project budgets, providing valuable insights for better financial management and planning. This setup can be aligned with the level of transparency the company desires. 
  • Edit estimates and target budget for projects: Permissions can be set to 'No' or 'Everyone's'. By setting the permission to 'No', you disable the user's ability to edit target costs and net estimated costs. This ensures the accountability and maintains the integrity of the initial estimates and taget budget as the project progresses. Conversely, by setting  this permission to 'Everyone's' and combining it with 'Everyone's' on the view project permission, the user can edit estimates and target budgets for all active projects. If the edit permission is set to 'Everyone's' but the view permission is set to 'Own & Shared', the user will only be able to edit estimates and target budgets for the projects they have access to. 
  • Accounts payable email manager: Permissions can be set to 'Own & Shared' or 'Company inbox'. Setting the permission to 'Company Inbox' combined with view projects permission set to 'Everyone's' will allow the user to have access to all invoices uploaded to the company inbox. The user will also be able to allocate invoices to the correct project. 
  • Change company settings and integrations: Permission can be set to 'No' or 'Yes'. Setting this permission to 'Yes' will allow the user to adjust company settings, features and manager integration settings. We recommend being restrictive with giving users this permission. 
  • Manage users and permissions: Permission can be set to 'No' or 'Yes'. Setting this permission to 'Yes' will allow the user to invite new users as well as edit permissions of existing users.

Invite new user

To invite new users to Planyard, navigate to ‘Company’ in the top menu row and then click ‘User Management’ in the company menu row. From here, you can manage the permissions of existing users as well as add new ones. To add a new user, click ‘Add New User’ in the top right corner. Select the role of the user you are inviting from the dropdown menu, and provide the user’s email address. The next step is to manage the permissions of the user before clicking ‘Create’.

Edit user

You can at any time edit permissions, contact details, temporarily block or delete a user. Navigate to user management in the company menu row, then click the three dots on the far right of the user who you wish to edit. 

Project level permissions

Change project owner & Share project

When a project is created in Planyard, it is automatically assigned to the person who created it. However, you can reassign the project owner at any time in the settings menu. Additionally, you can share the project with existing users on the platform. When sharing the project, you can specify the permissions and capabilities the user will have on the shared project. This ensures that each user has the appropriate level of access and control, tailored to their role and responsibilities within the project.

First let's look at how to reassign a project to a new project owner:

  1. Navigate to the desired project.
  2. Click 'Settings' on the far right of the project menu row. 
  3. Click 'Change project owner' in the top right corner. 
  4. Select the new project owner in the dropdown and click 'Change'. The project owner is now updated. 

Adding a user as the project owner means that the user will have access to all functionality on project level except any restrictions set via the account level settings. 

By sharing the project with an existing user, you can select what functionality the user should have access to, allowing for more detailed permissions and restrictions at the project level. In order to share the project with an existing user, click 'Share project' in the top right corner when in the project settings menu, select the user you want to share the project with, adjust permissions and click 'Share'. 

Permissions on project level

When setting permissions at the project level, you have the opportunity to make detailed decisions about which features the user should have access to. If a box for a feature is not ticked, the user will not have permission to utilize that feature. These are the permissions set for users at the project level:

  • Project viewer: The users will be able to see all information within the project.
  • Project document uploader: The user will be able to upload documents such as sales or purchase invoices.
  • Project RFQ manager: The user will have access to the RFQ feature in order to run tendering processes for subcontractors and vendors.
  • Project purchase order manager: The user can create and issue purchase orders to vendors.
  • Permission to prepare drafts: With this permission, the user will be able to do drafts of documents on the project. For example costs, contracts, purchase orders. Once done, project managers or other project functions with correct permissions can submit the document. 
  • Project progress report manager: With this permission enabled, the user can prepare progress reports on the project. 
  • Project change order manager: Adding this permission will allow the user to create change orders when preparing the progress reports. 
  • Project progress report decision maker: Ticking this box will allow the user to confirm and reject progress reports submitted by subcontractors. 
  • Invoice manager: This permission will allow the user to upload, and process sales and purchase invoices. 

You can at any time edit the permissions for user by clicking the three dots on the far right of the user name and then click 'Edit'.